Downhill Stars and British Interest

The World Cup weekend will climax with the Downhill events on the Sunday, on the slopes of Aonach Mor (pronounced Anach More). The downhill qualification will take place on the Saturday afternoon, where all the competitors race to qualify for the Finals (top 80 men and top 15 women) and determine their start position – the fastest qualifier goes last in the actual race.

The DH stars
The roll call of winners at Fort William represents the greats in downhill mountain biking for the past 16 years and the World Cup in the Scottish Highlands is one of the absolute classics that everyone wants to win.

Britain is one of the top ranked nations in Downhill, with outstanding performances in Men, Women and Junior. The reigning World Champions Danny Hart and Rachel Atherton lead the British challenge.

But the start list is likely to include a total of 9 British World Champions from the past 10 years.

Ruaridh Cunningham 2007 Junior Men World Champion
Gee Atherton 2008, 2014 Men World Champion
Rachel Atherton 2008, 2013, 2015, 2016 Women World Champion
Josh Bryceland 2008 Junior Men World Champion
Danny Hart 2011, 2016 Men World Champion
Manon Carpenter 2011 Junior, 2014 Women World Champion
Tahnee Seagrave 2013 Junior Women World Champion
Laurie Greenland 2015 Junior Men World Champion

More than 250 riders from 25 nations, representing the world’s best downhillers, will all descend on Fort William in search of glory.

The competition will be as fierce as ever and in the tough world of downhill, absolutely no-one can predict who will deliver that faultless run on the day – but having so many top ranked UK riders will ensure some super loud cheering on Sunday.

2016 UCI Downhill World Champions
DH Men
Gold Danny Hart (GBR) facebook.com/dannyhartfanpage
Silver Laurie Greenland (GBR) instagram.com/lauriegreenland_
Bronze Florent Payet (FRA) facebook.com/Florent-PAYET

DH Women
Gold Rachel Atherton (GBR) www.athertonracing.co.uk
Silver Myriam Nicole (FRA) www.myriam-nicole.com
Bronze Tracey Hannah (AUS) www.traceyhannah.com

DH Junior Men
Gold Finnley Iles (CAN) instagram.com/finniles
Silver Magnus Mason (CAN) facebook.com/magnusmansonDH
Bronze Gaetan Vige (FRA) facebook.com/gaetan.vige

DH Junior Women
Gold Alessia MISSIAGGIA (ITA) facebook.com/alessia.missiaggia
Silver Samantha Kingshill (USA) instagram.com/skingshill

Bronze Flora Lesoin (FRA) facebook.com/lesoinflora

 

World Cup Overall Ranking, 2016

Men Elite
1. Aaron Gwin (USA) www.athertonracing.co.uk
2. Loic Bruni (FRA) www.facebook.com/loicbruni199
3. Troy Brosnan (AUS) www.troybrosnan.com

Women Elite
1.  Rachel Atherton (GRB) www.athertonracing.co.uk
2. Manon Carpenter (GBR) www.manoncarpenter.com
3. Tahnee Seagrave (GBR) facebook.com/TahneeSeagraveAthlete

 

UCI Overall Ranking, 2016

Men Elite
1. Danny Hart (GBR) facebook.com/dannyhartfanpage
2. Troy Brosnan (AUS) www.troybrosnan.com
3. Aaron Gwin (USA) aarongwin.hookit.com

Women Elite
1. Rachel Atherton (GRB) www.athertonracing.co.uk
2. Tracey Hannah (AUS) www.traceyhannah.com
3. Tahnee Seagrave (GBR) facebook.com/TahneeSeagraveAthlete