Downhill Stars and British Interest

The World Cup weekend will climax with the Downhill events on the Sunday, on the slopes of Aonach Mor (pronounced Anach More). The downhill qualification will take place on the Saturday afternoon, where all the competitors race to qualify for the Finals (only the top 60 men, top 15 women, top 20 junior men participate in Sunday’s Finals) and determine their start position – the fastest qualifier goes last in the actual race. Women Junior are racing for their start position in the Finals.

The DH stars
The roll call of winners at Fort William represents the greats in downhill mountain biking for the past 16 years and the World Cup in the Scottish Highlands is one of the absolute classics that everyone wants to win.

It is perhaps fitting the the most successful rider at Fort William is also the rider with the most World Cup titles. Step forward Greg Minnaar (RSA) who has scored an amazing 7 wins at Fort William. His consistency and talent seems to reach new heights whenever he leaves the Fort William start gate. Can he make it 8 with another win in 2018? One thing is for sure, never write off Greg Minnaar!

Britain is one of the top ranked nations in Downhill, with outstanding performances in Men, Women and Junior. We’ve got multiple World Champions, with a start list that’s likely to feature a total of 7 British World Champions from the past 11 years.

Ruaridh Cunningham 2007 Junior Men World Champion
Gee Atherton 2008, 2014 Men World Champion
Rachel Atherton 2008, 2013, 2015, 2016 Women World Champion
Danny Hart 2011, 2016 Men World Champion
Tahnee Seagrave 2013 Junior Women World Champion
Laurie Greenland 2015 Junior Men World Champion
Matt Walker 2017 Junior Men World Champion

More than 250 riders from 25 nations, representing the world’s best downhillers, will all descend on Fort William in search of glory.

The competition will be as fierce as ever and in the tough world of downhill, absolutely no-one can predict who will deliver that faultless run on the day – but having so many top ranked UK riders will ensure some super loud cheering on Sunday.

2017 UCI Downhill World Champions
DH Men
Gold Loic Bruni (FRA)www.facebook.com/loicbruni199/
Silver Mick Hannah (AUS) www.facebook.com/SikMikHannah/
Bronze Aaron Gwin (USA) aarongwin.hookit.com/

DH Women
Gold Miranda Miller (CAN)www.facebook.com/MirandaKMiller/
Silver Myriam Nicole (FRA) www.myriam-nicole.com
Bronze Tracey Hannah (AUS) www.traceyhannah.com

DH Junior Men
Gold Matt Walker (GBR) www.facebook.com/mattjwalkerdh/
Silver Joe Breedon (GBR) www.instagram.com/joe_breeden17/
Bronze Max Hartenstern (GER) www.facebook.com/max.hartenstern/

DH Junior Women
Gold Melanie Chappaz (FRA) www.instagram.com/melanie_chappaz/
Silver Shania Rawson (NZL) www.instagram.com/shania1rawson/
Bronze Flora Lesoin (FRA) facebook.com/lesoinflora

World Cup Overall Ranking, 2017
Men Elite
1. Aaron Gwin (USA) aarongwin.hookit.com/
2. Troy Brosnan (AUS) www.troybrosnan.com
3. Greg Minnaar (RSA) www.gregminnaar.com/

Women Elite
1. Myriam Nicole (FRA) www.myriam-nicole.com
2. Tahnee Seagrave (GBR) facebook.com/TahneeSeagraveAthlete
3. Tracey Hannah (AUS) www.traceyhannah.com

UCI Overall Ranking, 2017
Men Elite
1. Aaron Gwin (USA)aarongwin.hookit.com/
2. Troy Brosnan (AUS) www.troybrosnan.com
3. Loic Bruni (FRA) www.facebook.com/loicbruni199/

Women Elite
1. Myriam Nicole (FRA) www.myriam-nicole.com
3. Tracey Hannah (AUS) www.traceyhannah.com
2. Tahnee Seagrave (GBR) facebook.com/TahneeSeagraveAthlete