4X Stars and British Interest

 

Buff 4X logo

The World Cup weekend kicks off in style with the ever-popular BUFF® 4X event on the Saturday evening, setting the scene for another big weekend of gravity action. The 4X Pro Tour returns to Fort William (venue for the first ever 4X World Cup event back in 2002) with the second of 4 events in the 2017 series of hard-charging, head-to-head contests.

All 4X riders have the explosive energy needed to move ahead in sprints, fearless commitment in the jumps and a natural ability to choose a line that puts them in front of their competitors. There have been some similarities with BMX racing in the past, but courses are now rougher and more technically challenging to retain the mountain bike element. A particular favourite for the fans at Fort William is the Rock Garden – a bedrock drop-off that has seen some spectacular overtakes (and crashes) in previous years.

The British 4X challenge is led by Scott Beaumont, ranked 4th in the 2016 Pro Tour series and Natasha Bradley ranked 4th overall.

For details of the 2016 4X pro Tour vist their website.

 2017 4X Pro Tour Circuit

Round 1            April 8th                      Azur Bike Park (FRA)
Round 2           May 27th                      Winterberg (GER)
Round 3           June 3th                       Fort William (GBR)
Round 4           July 15th                      Jablonec (CZE)

2016 UCI 4X World Ranking

Men
1. Tomas Slavik (CZE) www.tomasslavik.com
2. Quentin Derbier (FRA) facebook.com/Quentin-Derbier-4X-Racing
3. Felix Beckeman (SWE) instagram.com/felixbeckeman/

Women

1. Hannah Escott (GBR)
2. Michaela Berakova (CZE)
3. Olga Romzalkina (RUS)

2016 World Championships, Val di Sole, Italy

Men
1. Mitja Ergaver (SLO) instagram.com/mitjaergaver
2. Hannes Slavik (AUS) facebook.com/SlavikHannes
3. Luke Cryer (GBR) facebook.com/lukecryer96

Women

1. Caroline Buchanan (AUS) carolinebuchanan.com
2. Franziska Meyer (GER) facebook.com/franziska.meyer
3. Anneke Beerten (NED) annekebeerten.com